Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-17 08:05:07

marco.mueller

sheet metal with contact

Hi / Bonjour,

I'm quite new to code_aster and could obtain good results for models without contact. Now, for assemblies I have to introduce contact and created a benchmark model to get familiar with the process.

I get results, but:

- maximum displacement is 2.5 times higher than theoretic value
- reaction force is just 75 % of applied force (due to applied weak springs?)
- calculation takes quite long (> half hour for this simple model)
- I see some stress noise at my symmetry boundary conditions. Is this due to the linear>quadratic>biquadratic conversion inside code_aster, whereas node groups for boundary conditions were defined in Salome?

I'm glad for any comment / help I can get.

Thanks
Marco

Attachments:
sheet-metal.zip, Size: 58.98 KiB, Downloads: 166

#2 2020-01-18 11:40:18

mib

Re: sheet metal with contact

marco.mueller wrote:

Hi / Bonjour,
- maximum displacement is 2.5 times higher than theoretic value
- reaction force is just 75 % of applied force (due to applied weak springs?)

is the rate :Max model Dimension  / Min model Dimension <= 8 ?

marco.mueller wrote:

- calculation takes quite long (> half hour for this simple model)

it is short... depend from meshes dimensions and p.c. memory, and processor speed,  increasing meshes dimension reduce time and precision of computation, decreasing meshes dimension, increase time computation and precision.

#3 2020-01-20 08:48:21

marco.mueller

As I said, it is a sheet metal. I've attached result pictures.

Anyone who can help me with the combination of 2D elements and contact?

Thanks!

Attachments:
results.zip, Size: 201.15 KiB, Downloads: 31

#4 2020-01-20 10:48:19

mib

marco.mueller wrote:

As I said, it is a sheet metal. I've attached result pictures.

Anyone who can help me with the combination of 2D elements and contact?

Thanks!