Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-08 09:41:34

saikirred

global Stress results visualization for shell DKT element is wired

Hello, I am new to code Aster and working on salome-meca 2019 version, I have created a 2D beam with shell element DKT, fixed at one end and a load of Fz= -1000N as been applied at other end and displacement result obtained are accurate when compared to the Abaqus values. but the global stress visualization, I have seen wired stress distribution, that is on each element there is a compression and tension acting on it, unable to understand why?.

and also I see a stress value at S_z=0 at along zz-direction? which is a bit uneven for me to understand now? max stress obtained is S_x=170Mpa and S_y= 51Mpa. so can anyone please let me know why is this behavior of stresses are seen?

So, did I make any mistake in modeling or is it due to the element? and also I am unable to visualize the elementary stress results for shell elements, only able to see the max and min point? please find the attachment below, attached a displacement plot, global stress, and elementary stress.

Thanks
Sai

Last edited by saikirred (2020-06-09 17:43:59)

Attachments:
shellelementsplots.zip, Size: 200.74 KiB, Downloads: 17

Thanks
Sai

#2 2020-06-26 19:44:36

Vamsi

Re: global Stress results visualization for shell DKT element is wired

Please use operator "POST_CHAMP" for specific post processing of stresses from Shell Elements.

#3 2020-06-26 21:40:01

tpa

In human words: For plate/shell elements CALC_ELEM calculates SIGM_ELNO stresses in layers: top (SUP), middle (MOY) and bottom (INF). You have to extract the layer of interest to a separate result by using the EXTR_COQUE function of POST_CHAMP command, and then also remember this additional result in the IMPR_RESU command if you want to visualize in ParaVIS.

The thread "[SOLVED] Plotting stresses from DKT elements" has a .comm file giving an example.