Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-05 20:33:45

mihe
Member
From: Andritz Hydro Sweden
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 208

Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

I find it anoying that Paravis split up results (eg DEPL, SIGM_, LAGS_C..,) in in different sub foders (ComSup?) in paravis. For example contct pressure is usually put in a separate foder. And I reasently did a 2D stress analysis. Paravis then put the displacements in a separate subfolder. As a result it is not possible to combine contact pressure/stress-displacement plots (e.g. display contact pressure  on deformed shape, or for 2D display stress on deformed shape).   
-Why are results are divided up in different sub folders? Can this be controlled/Avoided?
BR/Micke


Salome Meca 2016 on Ubuntu 14

Offline

#2 2017-07-18 08:09:52

mihe
Member
From: Andritz Hydro Sweden
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 208

Re: Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

Hi,
I was wrong about contact pressure, at least for 3D analyses. Contact pressure result LAGS_C is located in the DEPL array and is therefore in the same ComSup as displacements in Paravis. However other contact results as for example JEU is put in  VALE_CONT array. And VALE_CONT is placed in a separate ComSup. As a result it is not possible to combine contact clearance(JEU)-displacement plots (e.g. display JEU  on deformed shape).

I have added a picture of how it looks in paravis. The upper part of the picture is from a 3D analysis. The result med-file was created by:
IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED', RESU=(
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, NOM_CHAM=('DEPL', 'VALE_CONT'),),
  ),);
-Why are DEPL and VALE_CONT  divided up in different sub folders(ComSup0 and ComSup1)?
-Can this be controlled/Avoided?

The lower part of the picture is from a 2D analysis (C_PLAN). The result med-file was created by:
IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',UNITE=80, RESU=(
     _F(RESULTAT=R1, NOM_CHAM=('DEPL','SIEQ_NOEU'),),
       ),) 
The stress result are put in ComSup1 and the displacements in ComSup0.  As a result it is not possible to display stress  on deformed shape.
-Can this be controlled/Avoided? -How?

BR/Micke


Attachments:
Picture1.png, Size: 266.48 KiB, Downloads: 163

Salome Meca 2016 on Ubuntu 14

Offline

#3 2017-07-18 08:21:29

3rav
Member
From: Poland - Cracow
Registered: 2016-03-30
Posts: 58
Website

Re: Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

HI,

Look at this topic:

Index/Code_Aster usage/[SOLVED] XFEM results

Regards
Rafal

Offline

#4 2017-07-18 08:48:26

mihe
Member
From: Andritz Hydro Sweden
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 208

Re: Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

Thank you for this input!.

-I tried it. It worked fore the 2D case. -> SOLVED
MAIL999=DEFI_GROUP(reuse =MAIL999, MAILLAGE=MAIL999, CREA_GROUP_MA=_F(NOM='ALL2D', TOUT='OUI',TYPE_MAILLE='2D',),);

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',UNITE=80, RESU=(
     _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL2D', NOM_CHAM=('DEPL','SIEQ_NOEU'),),
       ),) 


-It did not work for the 3D case.  DEPL and VALE_CONT  still are divided up in different sub folders.
MAIL999=DEFI_GROUP(reuse =MAIL999, MAILLAGE=MAIL999, CREA_GROUP_MA=_F(NOM='ALL3D', TOUT='OUI',TYPE_MAILLE='3D',),);
IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED', RESU=(
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('DEPL', 'VALE_CONT'),),
  ),);

BR/Micke


Salome Meca 2016 on Ubuntu 14

Offline

#5 2017-07-21 13:11:45

mihe
Member
From: Andritz Hydro Sweden
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 208

Re: Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

In a different case, where I had problems with DEPL in one separate folder,  I managed to fool Aster by duplicating the result with:

R1=CALC_CHAMP(reuse =R1, RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALLV',
             FORCE='REAC_NODA',
             CONTRAINTE='SIEF_NOEU',CRITERES='SIEQ_NOEU', ); #NOEUD_CMP='VMIS'

#Dummy/duplicate  result with displacements:
R1DEPL=MODI_REPERE(RESULTAT=R1, #NUME_ORDRE=1,
                  MODI_CHAM=(_F(NOM_CHAM='DEPL', NOM_CMP=('DX', 'DY', 'DZ'), TYPE_CHAM='VECT_3D',),),
                  REPERE='UTILISATEUR',AFFE=_F(ANGL_NAUT = (0.,0.,0.,),),
                  );

Then write to med file:
IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED', RESU=(
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('SIEF_NOEU'), NOM_CHAM_MED= ('SIEF_NOEU'), ),
  _F(RESULTAT=R1DEPL, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('DEPL'),      NOM_CHAM_MED= ('DEPL'),     NOM_CMP=('DX', 'DY', 'DZ',),  ),
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('DEPL'),      NOM_CHAM_MED= ('LAGS_C'),     ),
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('VALE_CONT'), NOM_CHAM_MED= ('VALE_CONT'), NOM_CMP=( 'JEU',), ),
  _F(RESULTAT=R1, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('REAC_NODA'),  ),

  _F(RESULTAT=R1CYL, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('SIEF_NOEU'),  NOM_CHAM_MED= ('SIEQ_NOEU_CYL')   ),
  _F(RESULTAT=R1CYL, GROUP_MA='ALL3D', NOM_CHAM=('DEPL'),       NOM_CHAM_MED= ('DEPL_CYL')   ),

                            ),);

Some improvement but still VALE_CONT is written to separate ComSup/sub folder.
/Micke


Salome Meca 2016 on Ubuntu 14

Offline

#6 2017-09-03 20:01:28

Thomas DE SOZA
Guru
From: EDF
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 3,066

Re: Why does Paravis split the result up in different sub folders?

Hi Micke,

The fact that some results in a MED file are loaded separately in ParaViS comes from the MED reader of ParaViS. To improve performance of the reader, especially for big models, compromises had to be made by the SALOME team.

Still, there is a workaround for that. It involves applying several filters to build a compound result that regroups the necessary fields. Let's suppose you want to regroup two separate fields.

  1. Load the MED file twice in ParaViS

  2. Select the necessary fiels in each instance of the results and click "Apply"

  3. Apply the "Merge blocks" filter to each of the results loaded in ParaViS

  4. With the CTRL key, select the newly created objects in the pipeline browser for [each] of the results and apply the "Append Attributes" filter

  5. This will create three additional objects in the pipeline browser, the last one of them is a compound result which has the necessary fields together

Best regards,

TdS

Offline