Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-02 12:08:09

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

I have install Code-Aster 12.3 on a cluster. Now I like to test the function of the system. On my workstation I use astk and create a new Server with IP of the code-aster cluster. But code-aster service are not list. How can I start code-aster service on the cluster or an a other workstation?

http://www.code-aster.org/V2/doc/v12/en … .04.00.pdf

About informations I'm very happy.

Thanks and greeting Markus

Hello,

I have a strange mistake. When I use IP of remoute CA Server, the the local service are used, CPU number, RAM, time....

Can I use different version of code aster? My problem is the aster server works with code-aster 12.3 parallel. Must I use the version of salomemeca, client site, with with ca 12.3. Can I use by client site newer astk versions?

Must I start astk on server to use ca service on client?

Can I general use:

ssh -X user@code-aster-server /apps/prod/aster/bin/astk

?
It dosen't work on my system.

About informations I'm very happy.

Thanks and greeting Markus

Last edited by m_golbs (2015-12-23 13:19:33)


The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#2 2015-12-08 23:21:06

Thomas DE SOZA
Guru
From: EDF
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 3,066

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hi,

Just make sure you can connect through SSH with a public key (so no password or question is asked) from the client to the server.
Then on ASTK in the client, add a new server with its hostname and the login used on the server. Be sure to fill the "services directory" where as_run installation is done on the server, e.g. $ASTER_ROOT (so that $ASTER_ROOT/bin/as_run is the path to as_run on the server).

Finally update the configuration (and choose the option to update it automatically in the future).

TdS

Offline

#3 2015-12-17 16:28:49

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

very thanks. I dont understand 100%, but I will read, test and learn. This is the method ssh-keygen, ssh-copy-id, authorized_keys,  ssh-add ... ssh reload?

Thanks Markus


The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#4 2015-12-17 18:08:05

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

m_golbs wrote:

Hello,

very thanks. I dont understand 100%, but I will read, test and learn. This is the method ssh-keygen, ssh-copy-id, authorized_keys,  ssh-add ... ssh reload?

Thanks Markus


Hello,

the ssh access to the cluster works now all right . I can select the service directory or can run through the file system...
But after refresh the code-aster service are not list, not available. Must I change asrun?

# [REMOTE SERVERS]
# Code_Aster web server (for updates)
http_server_ip : www.code-aster.org

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# nodes of the cluster for interactive calculation or
# to call batch commands
noeud : localhost

# add frontal machine (which is astk server in GUI) as a compute node
serv_as_node : False

# ...and just keep it (ignore 'noeud' list).
# This has no effect if serv_as_node is False.
only_serv_as_node : False

Thanks Markus


The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#5 2015-12-18 19:08:17

mathieu.courtois
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1,163

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Ok, let's go step by step.

1) On "workstation":
- does astk start normally?
- can you run a small testcase locally (on this workstation)?
=> if not, check your code-aster installation.

2) On "cluster":
- starting astk on the cluster, can you run a small testcase locally (on the cluster, in interactive mode without following the output -- I said step by step ! --)?
=> if not, check your code-aster installation.
Note the installation directory on the cluster: /home/cluster/code-aster (that contains bin/as_run).

3) When these steps are ok:
- can you connect to the cluster from workstation: "ssh cluster ls" must list the content of your home directory on the cluster without prompting you for the password?
=> if not, see "man ssh-keygen", search for "ssh login without password"...

4) Check server request from "workstation": "ssh cluster /home/cluster/code-aster/bin/as_run --info"
=> must print some information about the remote installation.

5) Then on "workstation", start astk and add a new server: Configuration/Server, choose 'New server' in the list.
Enter: the valid network name of "cluster", your login, home directory is optional, the installation directory as seen previously and click on 'Refresh now'.
=> you should see the Available versions and more.
=> cluster nodes must be listed on the right panel in hostnames.

6) Start a testcase from "workstation" on "cluster" (interactive, no follow-up...).
=> ok?

7) Configuring a batch scheduler.
=> will be a new discussion!

MC


Code_Aster release : last unstable on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bits - GNU Compilers

Please do not forget to tag your first post as *SOLVED* when it is!

Offline

#6 2015-12-22 10:09:05

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hallo,

thanks for the replay.

ssh-keygen
ssh-copy-id golbs@192.168.52.254
ssh golbs@192.168.52.254
without passwort

# 1) On "workstation": >> work, run all fine ....

# 2) On "cluster":  I have there no X. So I use:

ssh -X golbs@192.168.52.254 /apps/prod/aster/bin/astk

192.168.52.254 it the head IP of the cluster structure
/apps/prod/ is the directory for applications
/data/home/ is the home directory

the ASTK GUI start normal. I can use this like on my workstation. I can create a new server... , but I have a "Permission denied" problem.

Thanks Markus

Last edited by m_golbs (2015-12-22 10:13:52)


Attachments:
2015-12-22-Rechteproblem-Cluster.txt, Size: 13.53 KiB, Downloads: 376

The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#7 2015-12-22 12:27:58

mathieu.courtois
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1,163

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

First problem:

remote command (127.0.0.1 <> cl-head and golbs <> golbs) ? True

=> you set 127.0.0.1 for the cluster ip : you must enter a public ip (at least known by every nodes).
=> as 'ssh golbs@127.0.0.1' fails  as_run can not check that 127.0.0.1 is cl-head...
It is a good idea to allow 'ssh cl-head' from cl-head itself.

Second problem:

P aster_root /apps/prod/aster/bin

=> you set the "Services directory" to /apps/prod/aster/bin instead of /apps/prod/aster.

MC


Code_Aster release : last unstable on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bits - GNU Compilers

Please do not forget to tag your first post as *SOLVED* when it is!

Offline

#8 2015-12-22 14:08:05

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

thanks! I change IP and  "Services directory". But I have also errors.

Thanks Markus

Last edited by m_golbs (2015-12-22 14:08:29)


Attachments:
2015-12-22-Rechteproblem-Cluster-2.txt, Size: 12.7 KiB, Downloads: 413

The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#9 2015-12-22 17:31:02

mathieu.courtois
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1,163

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

mathieu.courtois wrote:

=> as 'ssh golbs@127.0.0.1' fails  as_run can not check that 127.0.0.1 is cl-head...
It is a good idea to allow 'ssh cl-head' from cl-head itself.

It's not only a good idea: you must ssh on 127.0.0.1 without password.


Code_Aster release : last unstable on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bits - GNU Compilers

Please do not forget to tag your first post as *SOLVED* when it is!

Offline

#10 2015-12-23 09:22:34

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

very thanks! I don't understand context. In ASTK I can choose different selection under configuration>>servers. The same "code aster server service" for me is 127.0.0.1 and the public IP, 192.168.52.254, when I work local, is this correct? When I take access from a remote client I must use public IP, 192.168.52.254, the 127.0.0.1 is then from the client, correct?

Is this important?

The authenticity of host '127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1)' can't be established.
ECDSA key fingerprint is 13:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:32:bc:xx:1e:6b:e0:xx:xx.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)? yes
Warning: Permanently added '127.0.0.1' (ECDSA) to the list of known hosts.

I think I solved the problem with:

by ssh console on cluster login under user golbs:

ssh-keygen
ssh-copy-id golbs@127.0.0.1
ssh golbs@127.0.0.1
without passwort

Now astk works.... The next task is configure cluster for "openmpi" solving with cluster nodes....


Thanks Markus

Last edited by m_golbs (2015-12-23 10:08:12)


The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#11 2015-12-23 11:25:03

mathieu.courtois
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1,163

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

m_golbs wrote:

very thanks! I don't understand context. In ASTK I can choose different selection under configuration>>servers. The same "code aster server service" for me is 127.0.0.1 and the public IP, 192.168.52.254, when I work local, is this correct? When I take access from a remote client I must use public IP, 192.168.52.254, the 127.0.0.1 is then from the client, correct?

In astk you should always use public IPs or hostnames (known by other hosts), localhost or 127.0.0.1 are not unique names!

The first time astk have to connect a host, it checks if it is the localhost or not (to avoid future ssh connections). That's why sometimes it tries a ssh connection even to localhost/127.0.0.1.

MC


Code_Aster release : last unstable on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bits - GNU Compilers

Please do not forget to tag your first post as *SOLVED* when it is!

Offline

#12 2015-12-23 13:17:31

m_golbs
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 118

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Hello,

very thanks! So I have understand addition a part of astk function.

Thanks Markus


The superfluous chase, is to miss the essential.
Jules Saliège

Offline

#13 2017-12-23 15:19:15

jack.mazzoni
Member
Registered: 2017-09-08
Posts: 2

Re: start CA Server service on server for Clients on workstations astk [SO

Good Afternoon everyone,

I'm experiencing quite the same authentication issue. I've gone through this post many times and tried all steps but I'm still having troubles configuring ASTK to run studies both on physical server and Amazon EC2 instance. If you could provide me with some help I'd be very thankful!

Foreword:

Really admire the people and the work behind Code Aster. I've been using Code Aster and Salome Meca since early 2016 with my current firm (doing mainly geotechnical engineering simulation) and I'm totally impressed with the robustness of the code, even comparing it with major industrial standards (e.g. Plaxis, Midas, Flac to mention some of the most prominent).
Now we decided to increase our computational capabilities to exploit Code Aster at its best in complex HM and THM scenarios using both locally installed facility (16 cores, 64 GB RAM) and on-demand Amazon EC2 instances.

Done with the due aknowledgement, here comes my problem: I've routinely installed Salome-Meca 2017.0.2 on both local server and EC2 Ubuntu Server 16.04 vms.
By following this article's precious hints, I've abilitated ssh access without password to both admin user and root via ssh-rsa pairing.

Now when prompting ASTK to either local server vm or EC2 vm I'm getting alternatively (depending on the machine I'm actually using as client) an access issue or a missing file issue when retrieving as_run --info. The same command (probably) performed by ASTK works just fine and gets as_run --info standard EXIT_CODE = 0 when manually prompted on terminal. I've tried re-installing Salome_Meca on both Server and Client with no apparent benefit.

Is there maybe any silly mistake I'm making?

Thanks in advance for your support and again many thanks for your outstanding work!

Wish you all Merry XMas and Happy 2018!
Ciao
Giacomo

Offline