Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#26 2019-10-03 03:10:40

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Greetings Mathieu.

So, I changed the bashrc to the following:

     export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/V2019_univ/prerequisites/Qt-591/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Then I ran in the terminal "/opt/appli_V2019_univ/salome" and the result is the attached image "resultSMECA_QT591".

Next I changed the bashrc to the following:

     export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/QT/5.9.1/gcc_64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Then I ran in the terminal "/opt/appli_V2019_univ/salome" and the result is the attached image "result_independentQT591".

Note that I closed and opened new terminal instances for each case (after saving the bashrc) to ensure that the bashrc was fully refreshed.

If there is additional information I can provide let me know, glad to assist.  Please note that I am not an expert in IT or Linux/Python, and thus the reason for these issues may simply be due to my ignorance.

Also - your team brought back the wizards!!!...really this a great because it allows for quick set-up of cases; awesome, thank you.

-William


Attachments:
resultSMECA_QT591.png, Size: 68.39 KiB, Downloads: 55

Offline

#27 2019-10-03 03:13:07

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Second file


Attachments:
result_independentQT591.png, Size: 79.86 KiB, Downloads: 56

Offline

#28 2019-10-03 08:31:40

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello,

Unfortunately my Ubuntu 16.04 platform didn't work using above. I install Qt 5.9.1 to /opt directory and reinstall net-tools and libnlopt0 using sudo apt-get --reinstall install net-tools libnlopt0 command.
In terminal I used "export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/Qt/5.9.1/gcc_64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH", and this removes Qt error messages.
For Qt installation, I used "qt-unified-linux-x64-3.1.1-online.run" installer.

I don't get error messages from Qt, but orbmodule is probably problem:
"salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/KERNEL_V9_3_0/bin/salome/orbmodule.py", line 174, in waitNSPID
    raise RuntimeError("Process %d for %s not found" % (thePID,theName))
RuntimeError: Process 5245 for /Kernel/Session not found"

Can somebody help in this matter.

BR
Ilkka

Offline

#29 2019-10-03 11:26:27

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello Ilkka.

Check if your system has libnlopt.so.0 and libnlopt.so.0.8.2 files in your /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu folder.  That is where I see those files on our machine.

There is a suggestion in an earlier post from Dezsit to include export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH.  I did not have to explicitly generate this link before running SMECA, but perhaps it will help you?...worth a try.

Hello Mathieu.

As a follow up, even though SMECA issues the "Warnings" about GMESH, HYBRID and BLSURF plugins, the Mesh module allows for one to select any of the MeshGems products (CadSurf, Hybrid, Tetra, etc.) and also Gmsh - so it seems these warnings can be ignored.

Still the desktop icon is not launching SMECA v2019; will look more into that sometime today.

-William

Offline

#30 2019-10-03 14:36:50

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

GXA_William wrote:

Hello Ilkka.

Check if your system has libnlopt.so.0 and libnlopt.so.0.8.2 files in your /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu folder.  That is where I see those files on our machine.

There is a suggestion in an earlier post from Dezsit to include export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH.  I did not have to explicitly generate this link before running SMECA, but perhaps it will help you?...worth a try.

Hello Mathieu.

As a follow up, even though SMECA issues the "Warnings" about GMESH, HYBRID and BLSURF plugins, the Mesh module allows for one to select any of the MeshGems products (CadSurf, Hybrid, Tetra, etc.) and also Gmsh - so it seems these warnings can be ignored.

Still the desktop icon is not launching SMECA v2019; will look more into that sometime today.

-William

Hello,
They were in place, which You rote. I tried also this /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu, but didn't help.

BR Ilkka

Offline

#31 2019-10-03 16:42:56

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello Ilkka.

Another suggestion:

Open a terminal and paste the following: source /opt/appli_V2019_univ/env.d/envProducts.sh

Then in the same terminal paste: /opt/appli_V2019_univ/salome

Does it run now?

-William

Offline

#32 2019-10-03 18:38:59

Jcm
Member
Registered: 2019-09-28
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello,

The installation was successful, I'm able to run Salome-Meca 2019, I added an under score to the libstdc++ files only, but if I activate the AsterStudy module and close the software many windows error appear. I attached a picture to the post.

I installed Salome 9.3.0 also and it works well

Regards.


Attachments:
Salome-meca2019-error.png, Size: 177.19 KiB, Downloads: 44

Offline

#33 2019-10-04 07:10:27

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

GXA_William wrote:

Hello Ilkka.

Another suggestion:

Open a terminal and paste the following: source /opt/appli_V2019_univ/env.d/envProducts.sh

Then in the same terminal paste: /opt/appli_V2019_univ/salome

Does it run now?

-William

Hello,

didn't help. Then I tried to use instruction in French language news for ubuntu 18.04 (libstdc++) and result is in atttached file. It is saying about libprotubuf version, but according dpkg  list I have high enough version of libprotobuf.

BR Ilkka


Attachments:
protobuf.txt, Size: 2.28 KiB, Downloads: 25

Offline

#34 2019-10-04 17:57:31

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello Ilkka.

Hmmm, then I am out of suggestions.  I have tried (and failed) to get the desktop icon to launch V2019, though by creating a V2019 alias in my bashrc to source the envProducts.sh allows us to launch V2019 using a terminal without any problem (we can live with this small annoyance).

There are several new (and great) features in V2019 including Shaper, wizards, new post-processing tool, new tools for plotting solver progress, etc.  It is my guess that the introduction of these features has complicated somewhat the universal installation process.

I am admittedly not an expert in compiling software, any success I have is through the forum and good-old-fashioned trial and error.  Hopefully someone with greater and more professional experience with Linux/Python/QT will help you.

-William

Offline

#35 2019-10-04 20:04:36

Wintermute
Member
Registered: 2019-10-04
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

I have had similar problems to those above, but following most of the instructions here I've managed to launch SM2019  from the console using a modification of:

GXA_William wrote:

Hello Ilkka.

Another suggestion:

Open a terminal and paste the following: source /opt/appli_V2019_univ/env.d/envProducts.sh

Then in the same terminal paste: /opt/appli_V2019_univ/salome

Does it run now?

-William

My modification is

(from the salome_meca/appli_v2019/ folder)

source /env.d/envProducts.sh
./salome

Which then runs without apparent complaint.

I am doing this kind of blind and like the other poster, I'm not competent with the command line or linux structure.

If someone can figure out and type up some clear additional instructions for installation, taking into account the package updates and this post by GXA Williams and adding to the bashrc file,  it would be greatly appreciated.

Offline

#36 2019-10-06 22:12:20

iwan
Member
Registered: 2019-10-05
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello,

I am trying to install SM2019 in UB18.04. The .run file was extracted successfully,  but ends with (screenshot attached):

./create_appli.sh: line 108: /salome_prerequisites_root.sh: No such file or directory

I did look for the error and the same error occurred with SM 2017.0.2 installation forum. I do not know how to refer to the link, but it is viewtopic.php?id=23294.

I did all the proposed instruction, including changing bashrc file and reinstalling python3, but there is no change.

Anybody having the same issue?
Does Python2 still needed to compile SM2019?

Kind regards,
Iwan


Attachments:
Screenshot from 2019-10-06 23-05-21.png, Size: 127.24 KiB, Downloads: 20

Offline

#37 2019-10-07 06:32:23

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hello,

Thanks GXA_William, Wintermute and others.

I confirm, that
"
(from the salome_meca/appli_v2019/ folder)

source /env.d/envProducts.sh
./salome
"
solved this problem. I am not specialist in IT, but I guess, that my Qt 5.9.1 installation was not totally successful and make problems, but  with above method using console it was working.

I will mark this topic as solved.

MR Ilkka

Offline

#38 2019-10-07 07:17:17

mathieu.courtois
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-21
Posts: 1,167

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

iwan wrote:

Does Python2 still needed to compile SM2019?

Hello,

All is provided as binary (the source of these problems!!!), you don't compile anything.

But the installer (post-install step) needs 'python' and it seems that it should be python2...

$(which python) --version
must return a Python2 version.

MC


Code_Aster release : last unstable on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bits - GNU Compilers

Please do not forget to tag your first post as *SOLVED* when it is!

Offline

#39 2019-10-07 13:05:24

iwan
Member
Registered: 2019-10-05
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

mathieu.courtois wrote:
iwan wrote:

Does Python2 still needed to compile SM2019?

Hello,

All is provided as binary (the source of these problems!!!), you don't compile anything.

But the installer (post-install step) needs 'python' and it seems that it should be python2...

$(which python) --version
must return a Python2 version.

MC

Hello.

The python2 is indeed needed. I installed python-minimal package and problem solved.

Thanks

Kind regards,
Iwan

Offline

#40 2019-10-10 17:05:19

sb1966
Member
Registered: 2015-03-16
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Dear All,
Sorry to post in a solved topic, but I think it is necessary.

IV_CoAs wrote:

I confirm, that
"
(from the salome_meca/appli_v2019/ folder)

source /env.d/envProducts.sh
./salome
"

1) There is a small correction needed. It should be

source ./env.d/envProducts.sh
./salome

Note the DOT before "/env.d", which was missing.

2) Any clue how to start from the DeskTop icon?
3) Also it would be nice to modify the icon and top notification bar which shows the version as 2018 instead of 2019. This may create confusion to the beginners.

4) Further, some post says that this version has brought back the  linear mechanical or thermal analysis wizard. But in my installation (2019.0.0-1-LGPL) I could not locate it. Any clarification on the same?

Cheers.

Sukumar

Offline

#41 2019-10-13 17:58:56

sb1966
Member
Registered: 2015-03-16
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED] Salome-meca 2019.0.0-1

Hi,
I wrote in my earlier post:

4) Further, some post says that this version has brought back the  linear mechanical or thermal analysis wizard. But in my installation (2019.0.0-1-LGPL) I could not locate it. Any clarification on the same?

These Wizards can be found in the AsterStudy module via the following Menu items:

Operations (in the main menu) > Add Stage with Assistant>

There one  gets the seven different wizards for the following analyses: 1)  Linear Thermal, 2)  Linear Isotropic Elastic, 3)  Modal, 4) Thermo-Mechanical, 5) Contact, 6) Fracture Mechanics and 7) RCC beam Analysis.

Cheers.

Sukumar

Offline