Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-09 14:09:19

Anirudh
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 255

Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hello,
I have installed salome 2019. It looks well all around but there are some serious bugs in functionality. I had the same libstdc++ error which I got around by

mv ~/salome2019/V2019_univ/prerequisites/debianForSalome/liblibstdc++.* ~/tmp

I would request the administrator to make it a sticky post so everyone is updated to the issues coming up in Salome 2019.
What I have found until now:
1> in Preferences of Asterstudy, If I select" use external editor to edit files", and then right click the command file, A pop up error is received with a python traceback. Interestingly, no such error is visible when clicking the "message" file in the CASE VIEW which also used the option " Use external editor to view message files".
Also, I can't use sublime text which is happily located under /usr/bin/subl in "external editor selection" field. When I do that, it always opens an empty file(be it comm or mess file)
2> opening an hdf file with a successful run and an .rmed file(which shows up in Data Files summary tab) and right clicking on it with "post-process" in Data Files Summary tab of CASE View does not work.
3> I can't see an option to warp by vector in post-process window. Also, in an opened post pro window which has some results, i double clicked another field, and salome just crashed.
4> Loading big med files with lots of groups is a pain in asterstudy. If you clicked by chance "select groups from center" during picking up a group, a lot of time is spent and software hangs. Also, selecting a 2D group after selecting 3D big groups, causes Salome to crash without any warning.
5> Open in Paravis can crash salome sometimes.
6> If something goes wrong, there is a flurry of SIGSEGVs.


I hope developers take a look.

Thanks a lot
Anirudh

EDIT: I found the warp by vector tool and it's working very well. Really great user interface for Post Pro. The export animation into video tool is pretty awesome. Great job overall.

Last edited by Anirudh (2019-10-11 15:19:51)

Offline

#2 2019-10-10 21:11:08

AsterO'dactyle
Administrator
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 341

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback

Please give some informations about your OS too


Code_Asterの開発者

Offline

#3 2019-10-11 04:34:38

Anirudh
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 255

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hi,
I am using Debian 9 Stretch but I have enabled backports from current debian Sid. I had to update libc6, libstdc++ etc for the graphics card driver to work. These should have overwritten the default libraries that came with Stretch release. I don't know if these cause the error of libstdc++.

Regards
Anirudh

Offline

#4 2019-10-17 11:23:29

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 47

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hello,

In AsterStudy, when trying to add Element or mesh group second time (when pressing edit button), following error occurs:

"
Traceback:
File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/panel.py", line 632, in _gotoParameter
wid = self._createParameterView(path, link)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/panel.py", line 663, in _createParameterView
pview = ParameterMeshGroupWindow(path, self, self.views)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/windows.py", line 435, in __init__
parent_item=None, parent=self)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 1896, in __init__
self._updateMeshList()

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2280, in _updateMeshList
self._meshActivated(self._mesh.currentIndex())

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2304, in _meshActivated
self.setMeshGroups(groups)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2006, in setMeshGroups
for name, size, occurs in names:

"

BR Ilkka


Attachments:
Screenshot from 2019-10-17 13-21-19.png, Size: 63.42 KiB, Downloads: 115

Offline

#5 2019-10-21 13:32:37

IV_CoAs
Member
From: Tampere
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 47

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

IV_CoAs wrote:

Hello,

In AsterStudy, when trying to add Element or mesh group second time (when pressing edit button), following error occurs:

"
Traceback:
File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/panel.py", line 632, in _gotoParameter
wid = self._createParameterView(path, link)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/panel.py", line 663, in _createParameterView
pview = ParameterMeshGroupWindow(path, self, self.views)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/windows.py", line 435, in __init__
parent_item=None, parent=self)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 1896, in __init__
self._updateMeshList()

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2280, in _updateMeshList
self._meshActivated(self._mesh.currentIndex())

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2304, in _meshActivated
self.setMeshGroups(groups)

File "/home/laskija/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_20190/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/parameterpanel/views.py", line 2006, in setMeshGroups
for name, size, occurs in names:

"

BR Ilkka

I find out, that this problem exist, when in "LIRE_MAILLAGE" is external med file used. If used mesh in same study, problem seems to be solved. (Salome-Meca Version 2019.0.1)

BR Ilkka

Offline

#6 2019-10-28 19:58:33

sb1966
Member
Registered: 2015-03-16
Posts: 158

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

[SOLVED] Problem in AsterStudy GUI in operation ASSE_MAILLAGE (Salome-Meca-2019.0.1-1LGPL)

Dear Developers,

While trying to run contact problem (Ch. 12, Aubry's book), I used med files created using gmsh 4.4.1. Both the meshes were imported correctly in the mesh module (S_Meca-2019.0.1-1LGPL). However while trying to use ASSE_MAILLAGE in Aster study GUI, I got run-time error message. (Screen-shot attached) The details of the message is as follows:

  
Traceback:
  File "/home/sukumar/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_201901/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/astergui.py", line 1073, in addCommand
    command = self.study().addCommand(stage, command_type)

  File "/home/sukumar/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_201901/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/study.py", line 180, in try_call_except
    if AsterGui.prepare_for_new_operation():

  File "/home/sukumar/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_201901/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/astergui.py", line 3243, in prepare_for_new_operation
    if Controller.active().hasModifications():

  File "/home/sukumar/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_201901/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/datafiles/unitpanel.py", line 549, in hasModifications
    return self._current_values() != self._orig_values

  File "/home/sukumar/salome_meca/V2019_univ/modules/ASTERSTUDY_201901/lib/python3.6/site-packages/asterstudy/gui/datafiles/unitpanel.py", line 622, in _current_values
    self.attr_combo.currentIndex() or None,

Kindly help to resolve this issue.

Best regards.

Sukumar

EDIT:

The following has solved the problem (As described in DoubleU.w.w/code-aster.org/V2/spip.php?article1076):
1. Renaming the libstdc++.xx files in $HOME/salome_meca/V2019_univ/prerequisites/debianForSalome/lib/
2) Creating symbolic link of the system libstdc++ library in $HOME/salome_meca/V2019_univ/prerequisites/debianForSalome/lib/

cd $HOME/salome_meca/V2019_univ/prerequisites/debianForSalome/lib/
mv libstdc++.so _libstdc++.so
mv libstdc++.so.6 _libstdc++.so.6
mv libstdc++.so.6.0 _libstdc++.so.6.0
mv libstdc++.so.6.0.20 _libstdc++.so.6.0.20

ln -s /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6 libstdc++.so.6.0.20

Thanks and Regards.

Sukumar

Last edited by sb1966 (2019-10-29 21:02:08)


Attachments:
Screenshot from 2019-10-29 00-18-31.png, Size: 128.41 KiB, Downloads: 145

Offline

#7 2019-11-22 13:51:31

Anirudh
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 255

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hi,
I post the screen capture of a usual session in Salome 2019. This happens after every close up of a file. There are a lot of SIGSEGVs once I exit out of Salome 2019. It doesn't matter whether on closing I save the file or not. Please have a look.
https: / /ibb.co/PZF8ZHt

Regards
Anirudh

Last edited by Anirudh (2019-11-22 13:53:01)

Offline

#8 2019-12-14 06:29:38

konyaro
Member
From: Genève
Registered: 2016-04-02
Posts: 248

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hello,
if the opening bracket of a tuple is removed in a text stage of AsterStudy, everything is lost when switching to graphical mode:

Tuple error

cf. topic https://code-aster.org/forum2/viewtopic.php?id=23836

Konyaro

Last edited by konyaro (2019-12-14 06:30:04)


Attachments:
tupple_error.png, Size: 18.03 KiB, Downloads: 1,216

失敗は成功のもと (L'échec est la base de la réussite)

Offline

#9 2020-01-24 21:13:02

guillegiraldo
Member
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 27

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Hi,

Here are a couple of bugs that I have found in Salome Meca 2019. Currently running v2019.0.3 on Lubuntu 19.04 (on a virtual machine).

- The infamous 'Permission Denied' error when trying to save the study also happens in Linux (on older 2019.0.1 version, still not seen on 2019.0.3),

- When using the Aster module Pos-processor, the study file size increases a lot. As the study is loaded in memmory, eventually a pop-up dialog appears with error 'Cannot allocate memmory', which hangs the UI and errors the progress of a running simulation. I have noticed that the pos-processor works by loading the results in the Paravis module, creating a series of filters and then showing the results in the integrated viewer. I suppose that upon save, results are stored in the study file (I have ended with Study.hdf files of up to 1 Gb). For reference, the workaround is to open Paravis module and delete all the filters history, then save, which returns the study file back to normal size (in the order of Mbs), memmory allocation error pop-up doesn't appear anymore and simulations can be run normally after this.

- Sometimes when using the Notebook functionality for parametric studies, upon changing values and updating the study, the Aster module cases are deleted. I haven't been able to reproduce the conditions of this.

Offline

#10 2020-03-06 19:17:20

hberro
Member
From: Palaiseau, France
Registered: 2011-07-05
Posts: 36

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

guillegiraldo wrote:

- When using the Aster module Pos-processor, the study file size increases a lot. As the study is loaded in memmory, ...

Thank you for sharing this, I would recommend to unload the asterstudy module before saving.

The current behavior is such that when asterstudy module is unloaded, it clears its share of the paraview pipeline. Hopefully, that discharges the extra memory.

Let us know if this helps...

HB

Offline

#11 2020-06-08 13:49:51

johnbm
Member
Registered: 2020-04-02
Posts: 2

Re: Bugs in Salome Meca 2019

Probable bug in SubShapeAllSortedCentres.

This bug relates to Salome rather than Code-Aster but after two months I still have no been approved to access the Salome forum.

I have been using SubShapeAllSortedCentres for a while and it has worked fine but today on one particular example it seems to have balked. I have tested with the latest Salome-Meca version 2019.0.3 and the latest Salome version 9.4.0. I am using Ubuntu 18.04.

Here is my python debug output:
>>> SubEdgeList = geompy.SubShapeAllSortedCentres(Solid, geompy.ShapeType["EDGE"])
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[0])
(-0.05000000000000001, 1.734723475976807e-18, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[1])
(-0.030000000000000002, -0.030000000000000002, 0.02, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[2])
(-0.030000000000000002, 0.030000000000000002, 0.02, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[3])
(-0.01, 4.336808689942018e-19, 0.04, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[4])
(-0.005152994237374334, -0.00515299423736705, 0.04278570604146767, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[5])
(-1.734723475976807e-18, -0.049999999999999996, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
>>> geompy.GetPosition(SubEdgeList[6])
(-0.00515299423736705, 0.005152994237374334, 0.04278570604146767, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)

My understanding is that SubShapeAllSortedCentres orders first by x, then y, then z "according to their gravity centers". GetPosition returns "the shape's center of mass", I guess this is meant to be the same as "gravity center" but the documentation just isn't consistent yet.

So in the case above [6] should be before [5].

If anyone familiar with the Salome code base can direct me to the root implementation of this functionality I'm happy to see if I can fix it. The 'Solid' here is imported from a STEP file created in FreeCAD that I am attaching.

Thanks
John


Attachments:
sortedcenters.step, Size: 29.96 KiB, Downloads: 23

Offline